When there is snow, there is the chance for sledding. Well, I learned something about fear – or maybe the better word here is exhilaration from our most recent sledding experience several days ago.

Here’s the story: we live near a good hill for sledding. The first time it snowed this season, the girls and I had our fun on this hill.  But, during a drive through town I noticed a really big hill–probably 75 feet and angled down at 45 degrees–that was just begging for some snow and a few adventurous sledders. So while the rest of the town was staying in their homes on a snow day, the girls and I piled in the car with our sled and headed over.

I have to admit, as we parked and got out our two sleds–one of which is an old dumpster lid given to us by a neighbor--I was a little scared. We began on the shorter and less steep parts of the hill and before long I had moved to the steepest portion. After loaning the dumpster top to two female college students and watching them scream in excitement as they sped to the bottom of the hill, I knew it was time to coax my 10 year old to the top of the hill to sled down with me.

This is what I learned, fear is a precursor to the exhilaration in our lives. Without the fear, there would simply be a baseline of ho-humness and the joy that came from the experience would be measured against that ho-humness. But when joy is measured against the fear that proceeded it, we can experience exhilaration. All it takes is a little courage, or persistence, or faith to get us through to the good side of fear.

So my point? Let’s make an effort to value the fear in our lives.  And while we are at it, let’s consider what’s on the good side of disappointment, anger, jealousy, and even hate. Maybe, just maybe, they are precursors that allow us to experience and appreciate the gratitude, peace, contentment, and love in our lives. Maybe, just maybe, all we need is a little courage, or persistence, or faith to get us there.

And by the way, while my daughter did go down the hill with me, she “chickened-out” at the last moment before going down herself. I tell you this, sitting with this fear will only make going down that hill the next time it snows that much sweeter!

Take as much time as you need Ellie!

IMG_0873

3 thoughts on “No Really, We Need More Fear in Our Lives

Leave a comment